Day 3: Oklahoma City to Santa Rosa

caddy-ranchDay three found me crossing the state line into Texas where I had to stop for a quick oil change in Amarillo. Just beyond the city is Stanley Marsh’s Cadillac Ranch which is definitely worth a look. Route 66 follows the Interstate at this point, but you can get off and park on the adjacent service road. For some reason, this gentleman decided to bury a dozen or so old Caddies on end up to the windshield in the middle of a field to create this bizarre roadside attraction. I had to stand there and ask myself “Why?”…

Soon after this, I crossed into New Mexico and almost killed myself! You need to be very careful here if you are religiously following your map. In fact, I would recommend staying on the Interstate at this point unless you want to suddenly find the paved road quitting on you at highway speed, making a sharp left and turning into a very bumpy dirt track. Not a good idea.

Once my adrenaline rush had settled down some, I was able to start appreciating the rugged beauty of the New Mexico landscape until I reached the desert town of Santa Rosa where I called it a day after 468 miles in 8 hours. Actually, this is a great place to stop for the night. The town obviously boomed on the old Route 66 trade and is a real ‘Motelarama’. If you can’t find a place to spend the night here, I’d be very surprised. There are one or two Route 66 Cafe/Diners too, together with havens for the souvenir hunter.

Depart

Arrive

Elapsed

Total

Arrival Location

Miles

Total

8:10

9:05

0h 55m

20h 5m

Indian Trading Post
Calumet, OK

56

994

9:20

15:20

6h 0m

26h 5m

Stanley Marsh’s Cadillac Ranch
Amarillo, TX

246

1,240

15:35

17:35*

3h 0m

29h 5m

Motel 6
Santa Rosa, NM

166

1,406

* crossed from Central time to Mountain time.

